What American Dream?

Ok-so we have given up the pipe dream of trying to own a house. We can’t afford any type of house out here, whether it has a foundation or not…whether it has wheels or not…we can afford nothing where we live.

Now that we know this…let’s talk about rentals. Rentals are really expensive out here, but we can kind of afford them. However, no one wants to rent to people with small children or pets. And all of the rent-to-buy houses are in really poor, undesirable areas. I’m not being a snob, but that’s a fact.

The way I see it, we need to make more money. We have good jobs, both of us, but some of our friends make more in one salary than we make together. (We also have a friend that owns 3 houses. Three fucking houses. We can’t get one house and someone we know owns three.) I’d like to make more money…I feel like I’m worth more money, but I just don’t think it’s at the company I work for. I don’t want to leave…I like my job and because of my skill set, I probably would start out making less than I do now. I really don’t know what to do anymore. I get up every day thinking that something is going to change, but every day is the same. If I didn’t have my son, I have no idea what I would have to look forward too. It’s a shame when people work hard, pay down their debt, and save everything they can that they still can’t afford any type of house.

~ by lhuber17 on February 7, 2007.

Leave a comment